Medicaid DSH Payment Cuts By District


The Texas Hospital Association is asking Congress to address Medicaid DSH cuts to help protect patient care. THA has calculated the number of DSH hospitals and reduction amounts for each of the 38 U.S. House districts for FY 2024. See THA’s district-specific explainers listed below for details.

Effective Oct. 1, 2023, payments to safety net hospitals in Texas will be cut by an estimated $800 million statewide for FY 2024. (UPDATE: A short-term congressional funding agreement has delayed these cuts through March 8, 2024.) Over the next four years, Texas hospitals will incur over $3.2 billion in cuts, cumulatively. These funding cuts are unsustainable, especially considering Texas leads the nation with more than 18% of its population, or 5.2 million Texans, lacking health insurance.

The Supporting Safety Net Hospitals Act (H.R. 2665), introduced in Congress in April 2023, would repeal the payment cuts for fiscal years 2024 ($8 billion) and 2025 ($8 billion), helping Disproportionate Share hospitals across Texas and the nation continue to receive billions in needed payments. THA and the American Hospital Association both support this bill, on which Texas Reps. Dan Crenshaw and Michael Burgess, MD, are original cosponsors. All members of the Texas congressional delegation are being asked to sign onto H.R. 2665.

Local Impact of DSH Cuts by Congressional District

U.S. Sen. John Cornyn
U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz
Rep. Nathaniel Moran (TX-1)
Rep. Dan Crenshaw (TX-2)
Rep. Keith Self (TX-3)
Rep. Pat Fallon (TX-4)
Rep. Lance Gooden (TX-5)
Rep. Jake Ellzey (TX-6)
Rep. Lizzie Fletcher (TX-7)
Rep. Morgan Luttrell (TX-8)
Rep. Al Luttrell (TX-9)
Rep. Michael McCaul (TX-10)
Rep. August Pfluger (TX-11)
Rep. Kay Granger (TX-12)
Rep. Ronny Jackson (TX-13)
Rep. Randy Weber (TX-14)
Rep. Monica De La Cruz (TX-15)
Rep. Veronica Escobar (TX-16)
Rep. Pete Sessions (TX-17)
Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18)
Rep. Jodey Arrington (TX-19)
Rep. Joaquin Castro (TX-20)
Rep. Chip Roy (TX-21)
Rep. Troy Nehls (TX-22)
Rep. Tony Gonzales (TX-23)
Rep. Beth Van Duyne (TX-24)
Rep. Roger Williams (TX-25)
Rep. Michael Burgess (TX-26)
Rep. Michael Cloud (TX-27)
Rep. Henry Cuellar (TX-28)
Rep. Sylvia Garcia (TX-29)
Rep. Jasmine Crockett (TX-30)
Rep. John Carter (TX-31)
Rep. Colin Allred (TX-32)
Rep. Marc Veasey (TX-33)
Rep. Vicente Gonzalez (TX-34)
Rep. Greg Casar (TX-35)
Rep. Brian Babin (TX-36)
Rep. Lloyd Doggett (TX-37)
Rep. Wesley Hunt (TX-38)