Executive Moves


Matthew Roberts, FACHE, was named CEO at City Hospital at White Rock. Previously, Roberts served as president and CEO at Raleigh General Hospital in Beckley, West Virginia.

Fort Worth

Ben Coogan was named CEO at Medical City Fort Worth. Coogan has served as chief operating officer at Medical City Dallas and Medical City Children’s Hospital since 2019.

Fort Worth

Matthew Dzurik, M.D., was named president of Cook Children’s Physician Network. Dr. Dzurik has been with Cook Children’s for 14 years and currently serves as the medical director of the Cardiac Catheterization Laboratory. 


Amy Johnson was named vice president of physician alignment at HCA Healthcare’s Gulf Coast division. Previously, Johnson served as vice president of business development and system operations leader for the musculoskeletal clinical program at St. Louis-based SSM Health.


William Killinger, M.D., was named chief medical officer at HCA Houston Healthcare Clear Lake and HCA Houston Healthcare Mainland. Previously, Dr. Killinger served as CMO at the Medical Center of Trinity (Florida) which is part of HCA Healthcare.


Chris Osentowski was named CEO of HCA Houston Healthcare Medical Center. Previously, Osentowski served as chief development officer at HCA Healthcare Gulf Coast Division.


Vicki Tarnow, RN, was named trauma director at CHRISTUS Jasper Memorial Hospital. Tarnow brings decades of nursing and management experience to Jasper Memorial. She also serves as a trauma coordinator in Jefferson County.


Walter Cathey was named regional chief executive at Covenant Health System. Previously, Cathey served as chief executive of the Lubbock market for the health system.


Jimmy Clark was named vice president of operations at UT Health Tyler. He will continue is current role as administrator of UT Health East Texas long-term acute care – a role that he’s been in since 2020.

Members in the News


Texas Children’s Hospital officially broke ground on their new 365,000-square-foot hospital in Austin. The 52-bed hospital will provide services for women and children and is expected to open in the first quarter of 2024.


Cuero Regional Hospital has added behavioral health counseling to their telehealth program. This addition aims to connect patients with highly qualified psychologists across the rural areas they serve.


UT Southwestern was chosen to run Dallas’ new public psychiatric hospital. UTSW has the largest psychiatry residency and fellowship training program in the state, with residents and fellows specializing in several psychiatry branches.


The UTRGV School of Medicine was awarded a $1.45 million grant from the National Institutes of Health to support its goal of developing a treatment for pancreatic cancer.

Fort Worth

Cook Children’s Medical Center’s emergency department was awarded the Emergency Nurses Association Lantern Award for excellent practice and innovation through leadership, education, advocacy and research.

Fort Worth

Texas Health Huguley Fort Worth South is undergoing a $73 million expansion project to add more than 108,000 square feet to the 291-bed acute care hospital.


HCA Houston Healthcare Tomball launched neurosurgery and neurotrauma programs and was recently recognized as a Center of Excellence in robotic surgery by the Surgical Review Corp.


The UT Health Science Center at Houston School of Biomedical Informatics has received a $6 million grant to use artificial intelligence to advance Alzheimer’s research.

San Antonio

Methodist Healthcare Ministries of South Texas received a grant for their San Antonio Mobile Mental Health Collaborative, a joint effort with local non-profits to provide free mental health services to low-income students and families.

San Antonio

UT Health San Antonio announced a new proton therapy cancer treatment center. The facility will be one of 40 in the U.S. and will break ground this summer.


Ascension Providence is the first Texas hospital to be recognized through the Edwards Benchmark program for aortic stenosis treatment. The Edwards Benchmark program is designed to encourage the Transcatheter aortic valve replacement (TAVR) approach.