THA Bill Aston Award for Quality

Across the state, THA-member hospitals are championing innovative quality and patient safety initiatives that are showing measurable success in improving quality and patient outcomes. In keeping with THA’s initiatives to promote quality and patient safety in Texas hospitals, THA established the Bill Aston Award for Quality in 2010. The award honors hospitals that have distinguished themselves through measurable success in improving quality and patient outcomes through the sustained implementation of a national and/or state evidence-based patient care initiative that involves physicians, hospital governing board members and staff.

The late W.W. “Bill” Aston was an exemplary leader who worked tirelessly to improve health care for the people in his community. He served on the Baylor University Medical Center board for 25 years and on the board of Baylor Health Care System from 2005 to 2010. In 2010, THA established the Bill Aston Award for Quality through an endowment from Baylor Health Care System.

“Mr. Aston was a strong advocate and champion for providing the highest level of safe, quality, compassionate care for all patients throughout the Baylor Health Care System,” said Joel Allison, president and CEO of Baylor Health Care System. “He will be remembered for his commitment to quality. He wanted nothing but the best. He always wanted excellence, and he constantly reminded us it’s about putting the patient first.”

Hospitals or health care systems that are active institutional members of THA are eligible for this award. Nominated projects must demonstrate improved outcomes in patient care and be related to a national or state standard for improved patient care. Projects must demonstrate ongoing involvement by both physicians and trustees.

Selection Criteria
Applicants will be evaluated on the following criteria:

  1. A maximum of three Bill Aston awards may be awarded each year: one to an academic institution or large teaching hospital member; the second to a non-research, non-teaching member; and the third to a rural hospital member.
  2. The project/initiative submitted must demonstrate and document improved outcomes in patient care. Metrics might include reductions in specific infection rates or readmissions for specific diagnoses or increased compliance with specific protocols. Consideration will include the rate or delta of improvement.
  3. The project/initiative should be related to a national or state standard regarding improved patient care. Any clinic or nationally recognized issue, identification of an institutional problem or challenge, or team decision based on clinical factors or indicators is ideal.
  4. The project/initiative must have documented sustained effectiveness; a minimum of one year of improved performance/outcomes is required. The project/initiative must have been initiated in the last three years.
  5. Preference will be given to projects/initiatives that have been replicated and sustained within the entrant facility.
  6. The project/initiative must demonstrate the ongoing involvement of physicians.
  7. The project/initiative must demonstrate an ongoing role for the hospital governing board. For example, regular reports or educational activities related to the project for governing board members could demonstrate the board’s involvement.

Selection Process
The selection committee is composed of one member of the Texas Healthcare Trustees board, one member of the THA Board of Trustees, the THA president/CEO, one representative of the TMF Health Quality Institute, and one representative of the previous year’s winners. Hospitals represented on the selection committee are ineligible to receive the award during the member’s committee tenure. Hospital representatives serve one-year terms.

The honorees will be featured in THA publications and recognized at the THA 2021 Annual Conference and Expo Jan. 26-27 in Austin.

Step 1. Complete the nomination form.

Step 2. Attach up to 15 pages of supporting documents, including a one-page summary and program description.

Step 3. Be sure all materials are completed and SUBMITTED by Wednesday, Sept. 30, 2020.

Questions? Contact Ollie Jo Bozeman at or 512/465-1007.

Bill Aston

Bill Aston Award for Quality Recipients

2019: Catholic Health Initiatives – Texas Division (Houston), Shannon Health System (San Angelo) and Houston Methodist The Woodlands Hospital (The Woodlands)

2018: Delll Chilren's Medical Center of Central Texas (Austin), Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital Hurst-Euless-Bedford and Hill Country Memorial Hospital (Fredericksburg)

2017: Parkland Health & Hospital System (Dallas), Texas Scottish Rite Hospital for Children (Dallas) and Rankin County Hospital District

2016: Baylor Scott & White Medical Center - Carrollton

2015: Children's Health (Dallas), Doctors Hospital at Renaissance (Edinburg) and CHI St. Joseph Health Madison Hospital (Madisonville)

2014: JPS Health Network (Fort Worth) and Texas Health Resources (Arlington)

2013: St. David's Medical Center (Austin) and The University of Texas Medical Branch (Galveston)

2012: Methodist Health Care System of San Antonio and Medical Center of Lewisville

2011: Memorial Hermann Healthcare System (Houston) and South Texas Health System (Edinburg)

2010: The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center (Houston)