June 13, 2018

Noon-1 p.m. Central

All physicians will be required to check the PMP before prescribing controlled substances beginning in 2019. Pharmacies are now currently required to report dispensed controlled substances to the PMP. This webinar will inform hospitals how to register with the PMP and the improvements that have been made to the system. In addition, attendees will learn more about the opioids on the PMP, changes to it and the requirements under the new law.

Texas Hospitals and the Opioid Epidemic

Please visit THA's opioids webpage for more information about Texas hospitals and the opioid epidemic.

Target Audience:
Hospital C-Suite

Continuing Education Credits:
THAF will be offering 1.0 ACHE Qualified education credit for this event.


Sara González, Vice President, Advocacy and Public Policy, Texas Hospital Association

Sara Gonzalez Sara González focuses on state-level hospital and health care policy issues, specifically behavioral health care, private health insurance and health IT, and represents Texas hospitals with members of the Texas Legislature. Prior to THA, Sara was the chief of staff for Sen. Sylvia Garcia (D-Houston), and also worked for Sen. Eddie Lucio (D-Brownsville) and Sen. Leticia Van de Putte (D-San Antonio). Gonzalez is a graduate of the University of Texas and served as a Gregory Luna Memorial Scholar in the Office of the Lieutenant Governor.

Allison Vordenbaumen Benz, Executive Director/Secretary, Texas State Board of Pharmacy

Allison Vordenbaumen Benz Allison Vordenbaumen Benz has been an employee of the Texas State Board of Pharmacy since August 1994 and has served for 6-years as Senior Enforcement Officer, 3-years as Assistant Director of Enforcement, and 14-years as Director of Professional Services before being appointed to her present position on December 1, 2017. In her position as Executive Director, Allison serves as the chief executive officer of the agency and an ex-officio member and secretary of the Board. She is a member of the Capital Area Pharmacy Association; the National Association of State Controlled Substances Authorities; the National Alliance for Model State Drug Laws, Prescription Monitoring Program Resource Group; and the National Charity League, Inc., Capital of Texas Chapter. She graduated from the University of Texas, College of Pharmacy in August 1988 and completed a Master’s of Science degree in Pharmacy Administration through the Option II program at the University of Texas at Austin in December 1994. Following graduation, she worked as a community pharmacist in California and Texas.

Registration Fee:

Members: Complimentary
Non-Members: $50

Register Someone Else

PDF Registration

Upcoming Events

Speaker Proposal Form

Connect With Us