Hospitals that provide neonatal care must have a Level I, II, III or IV designation from the Texas Department of State Health Services by Sept. 1, 2018 in order to receive Medicaid reimbursement.

House Bill 15, 83rd Legislature, requires the development of initial rules to create neonatal and maternal level of care designation. TDSHS neonatal level of care designation rules have been adopted and are effective as of June 9, 2016.

Deadlines for Achieving Designation

  • May 1, 2018 – Surveys must be completed.
  • June 1, 2018 – Completed application packet for designation must be received by TDSHS’ EMS and Trauma Systems Coordination Office. Please note that application packets must be received no later than 120 days following survey date or self-survey/self-attestation date.
  • August 31, 2018 – Designation approved by the Executive Commissioner

Applications and additional information is available from TDSHS’ Neonatal System Development Web page.

Please contact TDSHS’ Neonatal Designation Coordinators with questions or for further assistance.

Debbie Lightfoot, RN
512-834-6700 ext. 2032

Alisha Wilkin, RN

TDSHS Meetings to Review Maternal Care Designation Rules

Stakeholders are invited to review the Texas Department of State Health Services’ rules for maternal care designation at one of its upcoming meetings. TDSHS intends to schedule additional meetings across the state. THA will share additional information and registration information when it becomes available.

El Paso
July 13, 2018; 2–4 p.m.
Border RAC, Field Operations Building
6805 Boeing Drive
El Paso, TX 79925

July 24, 2018; 9-11 a.m.
Amarillo College West Campus, Lecture Hall
6222 SW 9th Ave
Amarillo, TX 79106

July 26, 2018; 2–4 p.m.
Covenant Children's Hospital, Arnett Room
4002 24th Street
Lubbock, TX 79410

August 3, 2018; 2-4 p.m.
Scott & White Medical Center - Temple
TAMU Room 109
2401 S. 31st St
Temple, TX 76508

HB 15 (83rd Legislature) – Relating to level of care designations for hospitals that provide neonatal and maternal services. Read more


Jennifer Banda, J.D., vice president, advocacy, public policy and HOSPAC, 512/465-1046

Carrie Kroll, vice president, advocacy, quality and public health, 512/465-1043